Deliberative Democracy Summer School 2020

5-7 February 2020

Ann Harding Conference Centre

University of Canberra

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

The Fourth Deliberative Democracy Summer School brings together an international group of PhD students and leading scholars in deliberative democracy. The three-day event is designed to facilitate the exchange of ideas about the latest developments in the field, particularly the role of deliberative minipublics in the democratisation of political systems.

Associate Professor Jane Suiter (Dublin City University) and ) and Professor Cristina Lafont (Northwestern University) are this year’s keynote speakers.

Other guest speakers include: Hans Asenbaum (Institute of Advanced Sustainability Studies), André Bächtiger (University of Stuttgart), Dannica Fleuß (Helmut-Schmidt-University, Marina Lindell (Åbo Akademi University), Kei Nishiyama (Doshisha University) PerOla Öberg (Uppsala University), John Rountree (University of Houston-Downtown), and Mark E. Warren (University of British Columbia)

Students will be paired with a discussant to provide extensive feedback on their paper presentations and a mentor to provide advice on the complexities of managing life during and after a PhD in deliberative democracy.

This year’s summer school is made possible by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research and Innovation’s strategic funds and the Faculty of Business, Government, and Law, the Australian Research Council, and the Journal of Deliberative Democracy.

Download the programme here.

Download the post-event report here.

Download the poster here.